Types Of Glaucoma

In general, there are three types of glaucoma:

Open-angle Glaucoma

            This type of glaucoma is the most common form in the United States. The normal draining angle of the eye is open but does not function properly because it is "clogged up". The elevated intraocular pressure that ensues causes damage to the optic nerve. Normal tension glaucoma is a subtype of this form of glaucoma that presents with normal pressures, open angles, and damage to the optic nerve.

Closed-Angle Glaucoma

            This type of glaucoma is most common in Asian population. Responsible for only 10% of all glaucoma cases in the United States.The colored part of the eye (iris) and the lens block movement of fluid between the chambers of your eye and cause pressure to build up and the iris to press on the drainage system of the eye. Acute-angle glaucoma is a related subtype that is often an emergency. This acute form requires medical care right away to prevent permanent damage to the eye.

Congenital Glaucoma

A rare form of glaucoma that some infants have at birth.

Due to a congenital abnormality of the normal drainage structure.

Children present with large corneas, tearing, and sensitivity to light.